Gluten containing food

(Almost) Always Contains Wheat (gluten)- Most of these items always contain wheat. Some usually are made from wheat.

  • Bread (wheat-free bread does exist)
  • Chappatis
  • Fu
  • Gnocchi
  • Gravy mix
  • Liquorice candy
  • Manna
  • Muesli
  • Noodles (exception: rice noodles, commonly found in Asian food)
  • Pasta
  • Pitta bread
  • Play dough
  • Quorn products (mycoprotein food)
  • Rusk
  • Sauces in general. If you can’t verify the ingredients, assume they contain wheat
  • Scotch eggs
  • Soy sauce (exception: some brands of tamari sauce)
  • Stuffing
  • Suet
  • Soups (especially packaged or canned, check ingredients.  Home-made soup may not have wheat. Always ask.)

May Contain Wheat (gluten)

  • Baking powder
  • Beer lager Blue cheese (depending on mold source)
  • Coffee substitutes made from cereal
  • Chicken and beef broth (canned/cubed)
  • Citric acid (verify before use)
  • Corn starch (some brands add wheat flour)
  • Curry powder (some brands add wheat flour)
  • Dextrin (may be derived from wheat)
  • Edible Starch (may be derived from wheat)
  • Filler (could be anything!)
  • Food Starch (may be derived from wheat)
  • Falafel
  • French fries (especially if manufactured or seasoned. Always ask.)
  • Gelatinized starch, modified starch, modified food starch
  • Gum base
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein
  • Ice cream
  • Imitation bacon
  • Imitation crab
  • Meat, fish and poultry binders and fillers, e.g., deli meats, hot dogs Pie fillings, puddings
  • Medicines (always check with pharmacist)
  • Miso
  • Modified starch or modified food starch
  • MSG (Monosodium Glutamate)
  • Mustard powder, prepared mustard (always check)
  • Pepper, ground (avoid in restaurants). Whole pepper is fine.
  • Prepared ketchup, mustard
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, e.g., chutney, soy sauce, tamari sauce
  • Seasonings
  • Spices, ground (always check)
  • Starch (may be derived from wheat)
  • Stock cubes
  • Surimi (used to make imitation crab/lobster meat)
  • Thickener (unless specified as other than wheat).
  • Tortillas
  • Vegetable protein
  • Vitamins (always check with pharmacist)
  • Yogurt (those thickened with starch or wheat are of low quality in any case)